Feargus Hetherington—blog


SwensenMusicHouse 2017

Feargus spent more time this past June at SwensenMusicHouse, studying, collaborating, relaxing, reflecting and absorbing!

Conducting repertoire included Mozart's 'Jupiter' Symphony and Mahler's Adagietto (from Symphony No.5)

Chamber music collaborations took many shapes and sizes, and included piano trios by Mendelssohn, Brahms and Dvorak.

Directors: Joseph and Vicki Swensen

Mackintosh Queens Cross, Glasgow

This photo was taken at Mackintosh Queens Cross, Glasgow - a beautiful concert venue and an amazing place to visit.

Kentigern Quartet

The newly-formed Kentigern Quartet will be giving performances during 2017/18

Their core programme for this season includes the following masterpieces for string quartet:

Haydn: String Quartet in D Op.20/4

Beethoven: String Quartet in F major Op.59/1

Mendelssohn: String Quartet No.1 in Eb Op.12

Brahms: String Quartet in C minor Op.51/1

Ravel: String Quartet

Britten: Quartettino

Information about upcoming concerts will be available at schedule page

The Brahms Viola Sonatas

Feargus collaborated with Manchester-based pianist Benjamin Powell in special recitals of the two Brahms Viola Sonatas in Edinburgh and Glasgow.

The final chamber music works by Johannes Brahms, these sonatas are the composer’s own transcription of the Clarinet Sonatas he wrote for the clarinettist Richard Muhlfeld. Beautiful and mystical works, at once strong and vulnerable, the Sonatas are laced with sublime melodies and rich textures.

Herald concert Review:

Gorelik and Hetherington

Concert Review

Olga Gorelik and Feargus Hetherington toured for the third time, taking in both Scotland and England, and featured the works of British composers of the late 19th/early 20th centuries.

Gorelik and Hetherington perform, St Andrews

Alexander Campbell Mackenzie – 6 Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op.37
York Bowen – Fantaisie for viola and piano, Op.54
Edward Elgar – La Capricieuse, for violin and piano, Op.17
John Blackwood McEwen – Sonata no. 2 in F minor
Granville Bantock – Sonata no. 1 in G major

Taking in major cities including London, Bath, Bristol and Edinburgh, as well as smaller towns and villages, the duo performed using Rachmaninov’s favourite Steinway piano in England, to a sold out audience in Edinburgh, and gave audiences a rare glimpse of some great repertoire by some truly exceptional English and Scottish composers.

Recitals in Poland

In collaboration with pianist Mira Opalinska, Feargus gave two recitals in Poland.




TV footage: