Feargus Hetherington—blog


Gorelik and Hetherington

Concert Review

Olga Gorelik and Feargus Hetherington toured for the third time, taking in both Scotland and England, and featured the works of British composers of the late 19th/early 20th centuries.

Gorelik and Hetherington perform, St Andrews

Alexander Campbell Mackenzie – 6 Pieces for Violin and Piano, Op.37
York Bowen – Fantaisie for viola and piano, Op.54
Edward Elgar – La Capricieuse, for violin and piano, Op.17
John Blackwood McEwen – Sonata no. 2 in F minor
Granville Bantock – Sonata no. 1 in G major

Taking in major cities including London, Bath, Bristol and Edinburgh, as well as smaller towns and villages, the duo performed using Rachmaninov’s favourite Steinway piano in England, to a sold out audience in Edinburgh, and gave audiences a rare glimpse of some great repertoire by some truly exceptional English and Scottish composers.